Grub + Bliss = My Passions

Salut et bienvenue à Grub + Bliss!

Don’t worry; I’m mainly an English speaker here. So what I mean to say is…

Hello and welcome to Grub + Bliss!

I found this super lovely definition of grub on Urban Dictionary:

1) n. Synonym for food.

Ex. You hungry? Let’s get some grub.

2) adj. descriptor for delightfully tasty food

                    Ex. This pizza is f***in’ grub, dude.

And a definition of bliss:

A state of complete, and utter happiness; often seen as Heaven-like.

Ex. Her state of bliss was enough to keep her smiling through her lifetime.

So, in keeping with these definitions… I want this blog to be a place where I can share about “grub” AKA food, including both eating healthy and eating locally; I also will talk about the things that make me, and many others out there, “blissful” including my major loves of writing, the cinema, and travel.

Even though I’m still “just” a teenager, I’ve learned that cooking and baking makes tons of sense to me. It involves math and proportions, reasoning, and nutrition facts; but it also takes passion and love. Food unlocks the entryway to amazing, unique cultures and, I believe, helps us all understand each other in a multitude of ways. I don’t have much experience with cooking, but hopefully with this blog and the help of all of you, I will gain lots of knowledge (and find my serious passions) in the world of cuisine.

One really important food-related topic for me is making healthy choices. I have close relationships with a few people who struggle with both Type 1 and Type 2 diabetes, and my younger cousin has had major problems with anorexia taking ahold of her mind. Not only them, but I (and many other people) am also at fault of eating too much processed food and sugar. With this blog, I hope to educate myself and others about nutrition and how to eat healthy. Just a few small decisions every day about what you eat can make a huge difference in health and happiness.

Along with delicious (and good-for-you!) food and recipes, I’ll also talk about three other things that I already have passions for and hope to explore further: writing (and reading and poetry and books), the cinema (I absolutely love old international films), and travel (which I haven’t done much of, but hope to in the coming years). Really, if something makes me happy it will be talked about here.

happiness

“Stop looking for reasons you are not happy. Focus on the things you do have, and the reasons you should be happy.” I absolutely love this quote and it really speaks to what this blog really is about: happiness, finding joy in the small things of life, experiencing bliss from the things you already have (and might take for granted) not in the things you think you do.

So this is my journey to discover my own unique passions and I want you to come with me. I’ll talk about amazing food and recipes, writing and poetry, travel, and all those other things that come along with being happy and squeezing every drop out of life. I also hope to help each of you discover your own joys of living, and find what makes you feel utterly blissful. Together we can get the absolute most out of these short lives we live (I’m already starting to discover how fast time goes…).

This blog, “Grub + Bliss” will show you just a bit of my world and hopefully will inspire you to indulge in your own wonderful life (:

Merci beaucoup et j’espère que vous reviendrez!

(Thank you and I hope you come again!)

Leave a Reply

